Evin C. Varner, Jr.
Fraternal Communications Award

2019 Evin C. Varner, Jr. awarded to Carole J. Jones, Alpha Omicron Pi

2019 Evin C. Varner, Jr. awarded to Carole J. Jones, Alpha Omicron Pi


As the Grand Senior President of Alpha Sigma Phi Fraternity and President of the College Fraternity Editors Association (CFEA), now the Fraternity Communications Association (FCA), Evin Varner led both organizations to enhanced programs. He was a leader and speaker in many interfraternal programs and won many awards as editor of his fraternity’s magazine, The Tomahawk. He achieved all this while compiling a distinguished career in communications, marketing, and public relations. He was the first recipient of the award, shortly before his death in 1985.

Evin always had time for those who sought his counsel, and he easily shared his sense of mission. He was an innovator, a doer and above all, a friend. He influenced others’ appreciation of the role of the fraternal communicator and the effectiveness of interfraternal cooperation. It is this spirit—the outreach of caring and sharing, as well as communicating and achieving—that the Evin C. Varner, Jr. Fraternal Communications Award memorializes, recognizes, and inspires others.

Award Eligibility
The nominee must be a member of an FCA organization, but need not be a member of the nominating organization. Over a period of years with notable efforts and results, the Varner Award nominee should have communicated the meaning of “fraternity” through working for his or her fraternity. He/she should also have demonstrated sincere and credible leadership and service to the Greek-letter system.

Nomination materials must be received by March 1, 2020. Applications for those nominated but not selected in 2019 will automatically be reconsidered for the 2020 award. Submit nomination materials to fca1923@gmail.com.

Previous Winners

1985 Evin C. Varner, Jr., Alpha Sigma Phi
1986 Betty M. Jones, Alpha Phi
1987 Barbara J. Tootle, Pi Beta Phi
1988 Tozier Brown, Lambda Chi Alpha
1989 Fred F. Yoder, Sigma Chi
1990 William D. Krahling, Alpha Tau Omega
1991 Marilyn S. Ford, Pi Beta Phi
1992 George W. Spasyk, Lambda Chi Alpha
1993 James E. Greer, Jr., Zeta Beta Tau
1994 Durward Owen, Pi Kappa Phi
1995 Kris B. Riske, Gamma Phi Beta
1996 Edward M. King, Sigma Chi
1997 William D. Jenkins, Phi Kappa Tau
1998 Jean W. Scott, Pi Beta Phi
1999 Kirk Hassell, Chi Omega
2000 George S. Toll, Alpha Epsilon Pi
2001 William C. Schilling, Delta Sigma Pi
2002 Dr. Thomas Goodale, Sigma Alpha Epsilon
2003 Philip Josephson, Alpha Kappa Rho
2004 Marian Williams, Kappa Kappa Gamma
2005 Sidney Dunn, Alpha Epsilon Pi
2006 Bob Off, Farmhouse
2007 Beth K. Saul, Alpha Epsilon Pi
2008 Betty A. Quick, Gamma Phi Beta
2009 Kenneth D. Tracey, Sigma Alpha Epsilon
2010 Mike Moxley, Tau Kappa Epsilon
2011 Judy Thorne, Kappa Delta
2012 Linda Ablard, Alpha Delta Pi
2013 Dr. Mari Ann Callais, Theta Phi Alpha
2014 Jay Langhammer, Delta Tau Delta
2015: David Westol, Theta Chi
2016: Wynn Smiley, Sigma Tau Gamma and Alpha Tau Omega
2017: Mark Timmes, Pi Kappa Phi
2018: William A. Martin, III, The Fraternity of Phi Gamma Delta